The Student Newspaper of Howard Community College

The HCC Times

The Student Newspaper of Howard Community College

The HCC Times

The Student Newspaper of Howard Community College

The HCC Times


Do you think there should be federal laws regarding hate crimes?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Subscribe to the HCC Times

* indicates required
Opinion: Esports Are Just as Real as Any Other Sport
Opinion: Esports Are Just as Real as Any Other Sport
Justin Ho, Guest Writer • May 10, 2024

Though they’re just people sitting behind monitors clicking a mouse and pressing a keyboard, the crowd roars with excitement. A gaming team...

Continue Reading

Finding Your Love Language and Celestial Match, and Adding Zest With Huss-like Romance and Gender


Are you looking for ways to improve your relationship with your partner? Do you want to better understand yourself and your partner, communicate more effectively, and strengthen your bond? Are you also interested in having some fun by exploring new perspectives and possibilities for expressing your love and identity? 

If so, learning about the five love languages could help. This concept was developed by relationship counselor Gary Chapman. The five love languages are: words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time, and physical touch. Knowing which are your and your partner’s primary love languages can improve communication, help meet each other’s needs, and deepen your connection.

How Do Love Languages Relate to the Pleiades?



Story continues below advertisement

You may also find it interesting to relate the five love languages to the stars of the Pleiades star cluster in Greek mythology. The Pleiades contains five major stars, each relating to a different love language.

In Greek myth, the Pleiades star cluster contains five major stars. Each star’s legendary traits connect with a different love language:

– Alcyone’s grace and beauty suit words of affirmation. Her eloquence charmed gods.

– Atlas’ strength and endurance fit acts of service. He carried burdens without complaint.

– Electra’s joy and creativity match receiving gifts. She created beautiful works.

– Merope’s devotion and focus relate to quality time. She shined her light on loved ones.

– Taygeta’s passion and energy align with physical touch. She lived life to the fullest.

Feeling adventurous and creative? You could also spice up your relationship by exploring the fictional concepts of Huss-like romance and gender, inspired by the offbeat works of Andrew Hussie. Hussie is the creator of many works of literature, such as Homestuck, Problem Sleuth and Psycholonials. Huss-like romance and gender humorously subvert conventional notions of romance and gender identity.

Let’s explore these concepts, how they can enrich relationships and connect to ancient myths and modern webcomics.

What Are the Five Love Languages?

Chapman’s five love languages reflect different ways people express and receive love in romantic relationships. He believes that each person resonates most with primary and secondary love languages. Knowing yours and your partner’s can strengthen your bond.

Here’s a quick look at the five love languages:

 – Words of Affirmation: Verbal expressions of love and appreciation.

– Acts of Service: Doing things for your partner to make their life better/easier.

– Receiving Gifts: Thoughtful presents expressing love and affection.

– Quality Time: Focused attention spent together enjoying activities.

– Physical Touch: Affectionate contact including hugs, kisses, hand-holding.

Finding Your Love Languages

There are a few ways to identify yours and your partner’s love languages:

– Take an online quiz asking about your behaviors/preferences.

– Observe how you express love and like receiving it.

– Ask your partner directly what makes them feel most loved. 

– Notice how your partner shows love.

Improving Your Relationship 

Once you know your love languages, use them to improve your relationship. Try speaking your partner’s primary love language more often. Ask them to try speaking yours more too.

Experiment with creative expressions, like writing a poem, planning a date night, giving a massage. Compare your love languages to the Pleiades and learn more about their myths.


What Are Huss-like Romance & Gender?

Huss-like romance has four “quadrants” representing different relationship types:


– <3 (Matespritship, represented by Hearts): A romantic love focused on passion and affection.

– <> (Moirail, represented by Diamonds): A platonic love centered on helping each other’s flaws.

– o8< (Auspisticism, represented by Clubs): A rivalrous love built on competition, making each other stronger. This is the only quadrant to include three lovers.

– c3< (Kismessitude, represented by Spades): A hate love driven by needing to defeat each other.


Huss-like gender explores identities like clown-gender, associated with colorful self-expression, and anticlown-gender, linked to dark aesthetics and opposing clown antics.


Using Huss-like Ideas In Your Relationship 

Approach Huss-like concepts as fictional. While they can offer fun and new perspectives, don’t judge yourself and others.

 If feeling experimental, you could try exploring different romantic quadrants or gender presentations with your partner.

Focus on what brings you and your partner closer, and what makes you both happy.


The concepts of love languages, Pleiades myths, and Huss-like romance/gender ideas can enrich relationships. Have fun learning more about yourself, your partner, and these fascinating stories! Most of all, appreciate each other every day.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover
About the Contributor
Trent Tabor
Trent Tabor, Columnist
Trent Tabor is currently a double major in sociology and general studies at HCC. He wants to be an advocate for people with or without disabilities. He would like to attend either Stevenson University or UMBC. At the moment, he likes to write horoscopes, along with astrological events and how they overlap. Occasionally, he may write horoscopes based on current events at HCC, and now that his career is developing, he is writing other stories, as well. When he is able to take a picture or is given a picture, he includes it in the article, crediting who took it, when, and where. Trent uses any pronouns, but he prefers masculine pronouns.  

Comments (0)

All HCC Times Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *